Northern Cumberlands Forest Resources Habitat Conservation Plan
  Home - Contact Us


What is an HCP?

Covered Species

Covered Activities

Cumberland HCP

Contact Us

Northern Cumberlands Forest Resources HCP

Through the Northern Cumberlands Forest Resources HCP (NCFRHCP), the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency (TWRA) is working to ensure that their forest management activities provide for the conservation and management of threatened, endangered, and rare species. Specifically, TWRA is applying for an HCP to cover timber harvesting, road construction and maintenance, and prescribed forest burning in the following Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs):
  • North Cumberland WMA
    (Anderson, Campbell, Morgan, Scott Counties)
  • Catoosa WMA
    (Cumberland, Morgan Counties)
  • Luper Mountain WMA
    (Cumberland County)
  • Mount Roosevelt WMA
    (Cumberland, Morgan Counties)

This planning area covers 140,250 acres managed by TWRA Regions III and IV.

In September 2011, TWRA submitted their first draft of the NCFRHCP to the USFWS Cookeville Field Office. The first comments from the USFWS were received in early 2012, and TWRA is currently working closely with the USFWS to respond to suggested revisions. 

As of March 2013, 22 covered species were being considered for inclusion in the NCFRHCP. The Covered Activities page has detailed information about the activity selection process and background materials.  More detail on covered species, including the draft lists, is available on the Covered Species page.









Copyright © 2013 The University of Tennessee
Last Modified: 5/15/2013
This site works best with Mozilla Firefox. To download, click here.